Out there

There comes a time when a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do. In my case, it’s what a girl has to do to help her get over a broken heart. I’ve decided to put myself out there, and in this town (world?) where it seems so rare to connect with an eligible, interested man in person, that means putting myself on a dating website. I’ve done this before, but it’s been nearly a year now since my last date. The first time around, I must say, was pretty frustrating. It did give me a few interesting stories that I’d like to write about someday, but didn’t yield any solid relationships. I don’t expect that it will be much easier this time around.

Nevertheless, I really want to give this a sincere try while acknowledging that I may not be ready for a new relationship. I have a heartache that I don’t intend to inflict on anybody else, but which still hobbles me and keeps me a bit withdrawn. On the upside, I feel that I’ve grown up quite a bit, and might even be capable of handling this with more confidence and grace than I did last year and the year before that. (Watch me eat my words as soon as I start going on actual dates.) I’m a stronger person for having been hurt, and a better person for having loved my ex and been loved in return. That will hold true no matter how much longer I continue to hurt in private.

As I stated openly on my dating profile, I have infinite hope that someday, again, there will be a spark. Until I find it, I’ll be okay.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Mari Boersma

     /  June 1, 2010

    Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Contact

    cascadewallflower at gmail dot com
