Getting antsy

This is like a grown-up version of waiting for Christmas. The apartment I’m moving into is just sitting there, nearly empty, and I can’t have it until Saturday. It could be Friday night, actually, but the electricity may not be on yet and I would hate to dirty the clean walls by having to navigate by touch. I want there to be sunlight while I sit on the bare living room floor and envision furniture arrangements. I want to mentally fill the kitchen cabinets with dishes, populate my bedroom closet with clothes, and tally up the new bathroom accessories I might need.

Most of all, I want to get moving. I have about ten packed boxes at home that are begging to be cleared away so there will be room for more. Being some kind of weirdo who enjoys filling out forms, I am dying to sign and submit those change-of-address papers for the IRS, the state tax board, and other entities who make it hard to update your information online. It’ll be a few weeks until I stop getting mail delivery at my current address, and until my gas and electric services cease. I still need to recruit some heavy-lifting helpers and schedule a date for moving the furniture.

With the amount of time at my disposal this could be the slowest, most leisurely move I’ve ever done. But when you’re a kid on Christmas morning, you don’t delicately tear the shiny paper off your presents. You wanna get what’s comin’ to you.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Contact

    cascadewallflower at gmail dot com
