The drugs are working

I think I’d be satisfied if I ate nothing but pie this summer. Probably I would need to fit in a healthy (and/or hearty) meal here and there. It’s just that I’ve been craving a lot of pie lately, and in my neighborhood I don’t have to walk very far to get it. The relatively gloomy weather of the past few days hasn’t stopped me. You wouldn’t think that weather would affect pie consumption, since pie is a room-temperature food. But I blame my affinity on the preceding weeks of sunshine, which in Portland seems to be laced with happy-drugs. Fun and junk food have been the most important things on my agenda since the suffusion began. Grocery shopping has happened in spurts and typically involves Cocoa Puffs or frozen pizza. I’ve been happy.

The actual drugs I started taking recently are playing a role in this too. They are legal, tiny, green, miraculous green pills. A doctor diagnosed me with a benign but chronic condition that’s been causing me pain and worry for six years. So far, it seems that the diagnosis and prescription were right on. I’m grateful.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Contact

    cascadewallflower at gmail dot com
