Bike envy

There are bikes everywhere in this town; spring weather is bringing them out. Every time I see one I feel a pang of envy. I am seriously itching to get a bike so I can make the most of these upcoming months, and so I won’t have to walk twelve blocks to the grocery store every time I need something. When I first moved here last summer, riding my bike helped me get to know the city and was one of my favorite hobbies. Shortly after moving into my rented room, the guy I lived with at the time invited me out to a bar—and we pedaled down the street to get there. It was just a great way to get introduced to the area. From our house in North Portland I rode to St. Johns, to Peninsula Park, to an organic brewing festival, to downtown via the Broadway Bridge, and even (once) to Mt. Tabor.

Today I test-rode a bike. I’d walked into the shop looking dazed and confused, telling the salesman that I needed a bike but wasn’t sure just what kind. He asked a few questions about what I was looking for and led me to a “performance” hybrid that fully embodied what I’d vaguely had in mind. I took it out for a ten-minute ride around the neighborhood: the first time I’d been on a bike in a few months, and of course it was wonderful. I couldn’t let myself make such an expensive purchase, though, without thinking about it first. So I’m thinking about it and researching other options. Tomorrow I’ll check out another bike shop. If that turns out to be fruitless, for some reason, I may find one to buy online. However it happens, I’m not willing to wait much longer. I might start mugging people for their bikes.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Max

     /  May 9, 2009

    Awesome!

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Contact

    cascadewallflower at gmail dot com
