First snow day

Portland is having its first snow of the winter, and it’s the first time I’ve spent the season in a place where there is real snow. It started overnight and there have been flurries all day, resulting in a couple inches on the ground. I went out to run some errands and walked on surfaces that were alternately powdery, crunchy, and slick. The wind cut right through my fleece gloves. I passed a number of people on the sidewalk, but the neighborhood was beautifully still and quiet. As I walked eastward I had to shield my eyes from the flakes being blown directly at my face. All of my exposed skin reddened and became numb.

From inside my apartment, all I hear is the hollow sound of gusting wind and the occasional crunch of snow chains as cars pass by. There aren’t any buses on my block tonight, as the service has been re-routed. It’s reasonably calm outside, and new snow hasn’t fallen for several hours, but the temperature will keep dropping and traffic will dwindle as the danger of driving on icy roads increases. We’re going to freeze all week long. Sadly, it may not snow again any time soon. What an awesome sight it was to wake up to this morning.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Contact

    cascadewallflower at gmail dot com
