The next chapter

While I was on the road yesterday, I didn’t think much about what I was leaving behind. I had already gone through the difficult step of tearing myself away from my friends, some of whom I’ve known since my early days of college, and from my co-workers, who have been so good to me. I didn’t do so well with uttering the word goodbye, but I did get hugs, laughter and free drinks from just about everyone I meant to see before I left. I’m pretty sure I’ll see most of them again someday.

Is it too early to say that I love living in Portland? Well, at least I can say that I’m happy to be here and I think I’m going to have a great time. After seeing off my dad today, I took the train and a bus home and unpacked my most essential items (stereo included). I won’t be able to fully settle in here because I’m just renting a bedroom in an established house. In a way that’s frustrating, because I have wanted for years to have my own place; but since I’m just starting out here, and don’t have a job yet, this works out nicely.

This afternoon I had to go out to buy some groceries, and I was anxious about leaving the house since I don’t know the neighborhood too well yet. (As an aside, this city is home to nearly five times the number of people that live in Humboldt County.) Eventually I hopped onto my bike for an easy one-mile ride to the grocery store, got what I needed, and returned to the house. It was a minor accomplishment, but it felt like the first step toward becoming a part of my new community.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Contact

    cascadewallflower at gmail dot com
