Cold feet

It’s one thing to say I’m going to move to Portland. Just saying that—deciding it—has been hard enough. But it’s going to take a lot of gumption to follow through with it. I have to decide soon which path I want to take, whether it’s waiting for a good job to come along or moving up there and doing temp work for a while. It’s going to affect whether or not I need to find a new roommate when my current one moves out next month. Even if I don’t get things settled now, I’m going to keep looking for a job in Portland and that will mean having to arrange more trips up there, which is expensive and a hassle now that I don’t have a car.

My feet are icy cold (metaphorically speaking, of course). Humboldt is especially hard to leave in the spring, when it is so beautiful. Anyway, this is all coming up now because my big trip begins on Thursday. I will fly to Portland, spend the night with Jenny, and fly to Hawaii the next day. After I return from Hawaii I will have almost seven full days in Portland. I gave myself that time to look for jobs and apartments, so I’d better take advantage of it.

There comes a time when I need to be truly decisive. This is a difficult prospect for me, as my friends and family well understand. No decision is ever easy for me unless the circumstances are perfect and all signs point clearly in one direction. But how often does that happen in life?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Contact

    cascadewallflower at gmail dot com
