Life in motion

I haven’t written much lately. I went through a phase where I tried to deny my introspective nature because I felt self-indulgent and narcissistic. Maybe I am those things, but as long as I don’t take it to an extreme I think I’ll be fine. I’m just trying to remember, when I get too deep into my own head, that my life is only a teeny part of this world and there are plenty of more important (and more interesting) things to think about.

Anyway, that’s not the point of this post. I’m making plans to move to Portland in just over two months. It’s been a really tough decision for me to accept. I’m trying not to get bogged down by doubts and what-ifs. This is a good a time as any to embark on my next adventure. Yeah, I’m scared. I don’t know what kind of job I’ll have, what my financial situation will be, what kind of people I’ll meet, how easily I’ll get around without my car (if I decide to sell it). I just know that I want to try something new. So I’m focusing on the big picture and on the things I know I can look forward to: having my own apartment to settle into, finding new coffee shops to hang out in, going to Powell’s, people-watching, getting a library card, meeting new people. I’m sure there will be lots more.

I’m also going to Hawaii on May 9 to visit a dear friend I haven’t seen in two years. Everyone tells me I’m going to love it there … talk about stating the obvious! And when I return, that’s when things will really start getting hectic. Job-hunting, apartment-hunting, a bunch of other stuff I can’t think about right now because I’m exhausted.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Contact

    cascadewallflower at gmail dot com
