Lovely things

I spent some time sitting at the Plaza today, listening to live music. There were a bunch of kids running around, chasing after bubbles and seagulls and picking flowers off the bushes. A little girl in a pink shawl had an armful of red blossoms, which she handed out to passersby. She gave one to me, then came back a few minutes later and dumped the whole armload into my lap. I asked her what I should do with them, and she told me to take them home and plant them in my garden.  Then she made some faces at me and ran off to play with her friends. Before I left I discreetly placed all but one of the blossoms back in the planter next to my bench. I carried the other one around for a while.

As I was sitting there, I noticed something small and shiny on my leg. I thought it was something to be flicked off (and maybe it was, depending on your point of view), but when I looked closer I saw that it was a beetle no more than three millimeters in length. It was the color of bronze. I let it crawl on my finger, where it left me a few tiny tiny bug-sized “gifts.” Awww.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Contact

    cascadewallflower at gmail dot com
