I’m a travelin’ woman

I’m actually kind of glad that my trip to Redding fell through, because two consecutive weekends of traveling has been plenty.

Two Fridays ago, I left work early and was joined by Nikki and Emily for a long drive to Portland. All I really need to say about that trip was that we yearned for air conditioning. Also, we mustn’t forget the sinister cigarette-wielding old ladies whom we apparently offended in some way. (What did we do to earn that nasty teeth-baring look and evil wave of the hand?) Eventually, though, we met up with Jenny and Ryan at Jenny’s apartment. Our weekend was filled with adventures involving Red Robin seasoning, balloons resembling sex toys, crude drawings of Dumbledore and fuzzy teddy bears, mango-flavored goo, and an unexpectedly crappy movie rental choice. We also spent a lot of time walking around and enjoying the sights of Portland. It was a really fun weekend.

Last Saturday I took my car on another long journey, this time to Sacramento. I got to see my brother, who’s happy to be back in the U.S. after being stationed in Germany. The whole family went down to Salinas for the weekend to visit aunts and uncles and cousins and grandparents (and dogs and cats). I got to pet a fluffy kitten and be hugged by my three-year-old cousin, and all in all it was a great vacation.

However, I am absolutely thrilled to spend a weekend (and more) at home. I have important things and people to catch up with here. I think I’ll always be a homebody at heart.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Contact

    cascadewallflower at gmail dot com
