My new job

You may be wondering what I do for a living now. A few weeks ago I started working for a small planning/permitting/environmental consulting firm. My primary title (I guess) is Assistant Planner for the City of Blue Lake. Basically, I receive development applications from property owners and review them for consistency with the general plan, zoning ordinance and subdivision ordinance (if applicable). The City building official also refers building permit applications to me for review. My applications are referred to other members of City staff for comments, and we meet once a week to discuss current projects and talk to citizens who have questions or proposals for development projects. For a given project I incorporate everybody’s comments into a staff report, which is presented to the Planning Commission at one of its monthly meetings. The commission decides whether or not to approve the project based on my (and other staff’s) recommendations. . . . This is a basic description of the job as I understand it now, but it’s all new, so I’m sure more twists will be thrown in later. It’s just cool to say that I’m a member of City staff.

My company has other clients besides the City of Blue Lake, and I work on projects for them too. We do things like permit processing and environmental impact analysis. I may actually get to do some fieldwork as part of a water quality monitoring effort for the City of Trinidad. There’s plenty of stuff to keep me busy. I get a little restless sitting at a computer all day, but so far I like the job and I love my co-workers.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Contact

    cascadewallflower at gmail dot com
